top of page


The Senior Foundation Inc. Johnson City is a nonprofit 501 c (3) organization, established in 1985, and run by a group of community volunteers. The Foundation’s goal is to support the needs of individuals over 55 who reside in Washington, Sullivan, Carter and Unicoi counties.

  • The organization supports seniors who utilize an area Center Senior Center by subsidizing seniors participating in critical programs such as the healthcare coordinator, funding transport for cultural activities outside of the Tri-Cities area and providing financial support to seniors who do not have resources to attend senior activities. The Foundation’s Fellowship Program also provides financial support to low-income individuals that allow them to participate in activities at a greatly reduced costs. We also encourage seniors to be active and we support the regional Senior Olympics program.

  • The second broader approach is our  Spring Forward Food Distribution program which directly provide food, household products, and personal hygiene items to low income and disabled seniors and their families. This is done through the efforts of a large group of volunteers who personally deliver the items to seniors, as well as spend time with them. This is one of our most rewarding programs and each year the demand and needs grow. 

Participants enrolled in the fellowship program enjoy activities such as the , fitness classes, arts classes and other amenities to enhance their quality of life they could not afford without the fellowship program. The Foundation is also a funding source for major capital purchases such as area transport buses and fitness equipment.


The Foundation recognizes the number of seniors in our area and their needs are increasing. Our objective is to continue to find ways to support our seniors and allow them to live an active, productive and healthy life.

Our Vision

The vision of the Senior Foundation is to be a pathway to enriching the lives of adults 50+ and our mission is to engage adults 50+ in Active Life through Active Living with dignity.

Our Mission

Our Board

  • Rebecca Hennessee — President

  • Charles Hough — Past President

  • Frank Calderala–– Treasurer

  • ​Bill Alvis-President Elect

  • Jeff Chipokas-Secretary

  • Karen Peko

  • Joan Chipokas

  • Alice Spurling

  • Corien Shafer

  • Tammy Stamper

  • Sandy Greer

  • Skip Hagey

  • Kathy Whitaker


Want to join the board?

Send us a message, and we would love to talk.

We Need Your Support!

bottom of page